Customer Reviews: 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment

5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment Reviews

5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Our price
$0.69 sqft
$69.00 Roll
reg: $0.92 sqft
roll $92.00
We'd love your feedback
Average Rating 4.9/5
(14 reviews)
results 1-14 of 14

make much less foot traffic noise

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Bryan from Winchester, Virginia
04/19/2017
Great product. Our bedroom is downstairs below the kitchen and living room where I installed the new flooring. This underlayment helped quiet the floor traffic significantly. Easy to use and very heavy duty. Thank you, Bryan in Winchester, Virginia.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Kitchen and living room
Was this helpful? 0 0

1974 VW Camper

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Ernest A. from League City, TX
03/15/2017
I purchased rubber flooring and underlay. One product was like an insulation and the other was like a more durable surface (I believe used on gym floors, etc.) Use of Product - I have a 1974 VW Camper. I have installed the durable floor surface on ALL of the interior floor space. I intend to glue the rubber insulation (color specs inside) to the side surfaces. A single roll of the durable surface rubber flooring is perfect for doing the entire flooring space (including back cushion/storage area) and is a market application not currently conceived. The rubber insulation isn’t really necessary, but I will put it to use. How I like it - The finished product will perform VERY well. You must understand I am 100% restoring this vehicle - it has already been de-rusted/repainted/engine rebuilt/etc. I used a product called “Lizzard Skin” made here in Houston. I first sprayed the interior metal with soundproofing (incredible results), then with a ceramic finish (hard surface). The net result is an interior surface that will NOT sweat is better than an Igloo and has studio sound system qualities. On top of that is your rubber flooring - making road noise from below a certain 0, providing quality resilient elastic support for the bamboo flooring I am installing over it. My intention is to build to last the rest of my life. Installation - Installation was reasonably simple, but took longer than expected. Cutting the material isn’t the easiest - I used a razor knife, but still (I found use of a long board underneath provided a better cutting surface to start and then allowed the cut seam to open and use the knife blade to slice the seam & after a couple of times, it was done. It took me +/- 10 hours, and I wish had made patterns before starting, but all worked out in the end as bamboo flooring will be over the top. In the driver area, carpet will be laid down over it. I believe you should consider its application to the RV industry. One roll is perfect for my small VW Camper. It provides: (i) noise reduction; (ii) thermal insulation; (iii) comfort underfoot. I don’t know what sweat issues might exist that can cause rusting underneath. I have avoided that as there is no exposed metal underneath.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - 1974 VW Camper
Was this helpful? 0 0

Garage underlay

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Zachary S. from Sacramento, CA
03/15/2017
I purchased the underlayment for my garage floor and it has exceeded my expectations. It was easy to install (cut for exact placement) and I will also be purchasing more to continue with my garage project .
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Garage
Was this helpful? 0 0

Excellent Product

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Rob B. from Alameda, Ca
04/13/2016
I installed the 5mm rubber underlayment upstairs over a Warmboard Radiant heat floor. Soundproofing is greatly increased. The weight is enough to keep the pex on warmboard in the grooves. I am extremely happy with this product. What faint smell of rubber their is, goes away in less than a few hours.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Second floor except bathrooms
Was this helpful? 0 0

Excellent Product

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Anonymous from San Francisco Bay Area, CA
11/25/2015
I am very pleased with the product. I was worried about the smell of the recycled tires in the underlayment. However, I was surprised that the product did not smell at all. It is really a good quality product that you can feel good about purchasing.
Did you install it yourself - No
Where did you install it - Home
Was this helpful? 2 0

Used in Multiplex for Sound Reduction

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Matt from Sarnia, ON
07/28/2015
I just completed installation of this product under LVT and 12mL laminate with marked results. This was installed on the second floor of my multiplex and the tenants below recorded that all footfall noise was eliminated to the point that only hammering was heard. The floor is not insulated and did not have a dropped ceiling below so I am very happy with the result. I paired this product with acoustical caulking for best results. 5mm rubber cut very easy with a sharp box-cutter knife. Recommeded after extensive research and was happy with delivery time and the packaged product arrived with ample packaging for protection. Only thing is this stuff is HEAVY but great for adding density to your floor. Will purchase again for myself and friends. Matt
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Bathroom, Kitchen, Living Room, Hallway, Bedroom
Was this helpful? 0 0

Perfect solution

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
JRB from Emeryville Ca
02/19/2015
Very easy installation with double sided carpet tape and a few black screws along hard to secure corner areas. Applied to commercial entry ramp to Will Call area of commercial outfit. Very good traction, stability, nice walking surface. Secured doorways with flat aluminum thresholds. Looks great.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - see above
Was this helpful? 0 0

stable underlayment

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Scott from Atlanta
01/21/2015
I used this as an underlayment for my home theater. We used 18"carpet tiles on top and it worked perfectly. This product is a good sound dampener and served our purpose well. Rubber does a ground job of Isolating the bass frequencies on the bottom end and eliminating some of the reverberation. Next time i would probably go with the thicker version, as this is only a 1/4" pad, but it still worked well, and will never wear out like foam.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Theater
Was this helpful? 0 0

Very happy with the product

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Jennifer E. from Virginia Beach, VA
09/08/2014
We have finally completed our project! We used the 5mm Underlayment Roll with 1/2 inch tiles over. We also cut pieces of the 1/4 inch mat roll to shock absorb while using weights. It looks great & feels great! We are very happy with the product.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 2 0

Fair

4/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Peter Alleyne from Barbados
04/02/2014
This size is great but I am also looking for 3/4" roll for another piece of equipment.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Equipment
Was this helpful? 0 0

Buffalo in the Attic!

4/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Anonymous from Tennessee
08/09/2013
We have a 1920's home. We asked the last tenant to move out of our attic apartment because, although she was a model tenant (she kept it pristine and paid her rent in a timely manner), she sounded like a buffalo pounding the floor above our heads. I couldn't bear it another year. We did our research and here is what we did. We took out the floor including the sub-floor. Then we installed everything new, with the rubber underlayment as one of the steps. We installed porcelain tile and 3/4" hardwood floor. Although I can hear an occasional sound if something is dropped, regular footstep sounds are non-existent. I am thrilled. The reason I gave 4 stars is that when I first called, the young man in customer service told me that we could install porcelain tile directly over the rubber underlayment rather than admit that he didn't know the answer. That is wrong. I would have much preferred that he said he didn't know.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Attic Apartment
Was this helpful? 6 2

The right stuff

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Anonymous from Seattle WA
05/09/2013
We remodeled a second floor condominium unit which included floating 1/2" engineered hardwood floors over Gypcrete. We needed an underlayment that would pass muster with our condo board and downstairs neighbors. Rubber Flooring's 5mm pre-cut underlayment fit the bill. Our contractor installed the underlayment and hardwood and even he remarked at the solid feel and "real" sound of the flooring over the 5mm. It's only been down for a few weeks but we're extremely happy with the product. Now if only Rubber Flooring would have included a couple of burly types to help us get the rolls up to our second floor unit...
Did you install it yourself - No
Where did you install it - 500 Sq. feet of 2nd floor condo unit
Was this helpful? 0 0

Great product!

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
Anonymous from Pottstown, PA
05/02/2013
We use this under a portable dance floor and it works great. We have an uneven tile surface and the 5mm helps make the surface flat.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Restaurant
Was this helpful? 0 0

Completely Satisfied

5/5 5mm Pre-Cut Rubber Underlayment
James from Kentucky
02/22/2013
Ordering process was simple and secure. Company rep that I spoke to on the phone was friendly and concise. Delivery was much quicker than estimated. I'm satisfied with this product. Using it as a sound reduction underlayment for a solid hardwood floor. It performs as advertised. Will purchase from this company again.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Second story great room and bedrooms.
Was this helpful? 0 0
results 1-14 of 14