Slate Flex Tiles

Price from
$4.00 sqft
$9.00 Tile
reg: $5.33 sqft
tile $12.00
We'd love your feedback
Write a review
Average Rating 4.8/5
(35 reviews)

Great Product
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Alabama 2/25/2014

This tile was used in a much older home where the floors had some flex in them so whatever went down in the bathroom had to give a little bit. Cuts easily with a sharp utility knife and goes down very easily. The bathroom floor where it was used looks great. I would recommend this product to others and intend to order more for the utility room since the bathroom turned out so well.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Bathroom
My utility room
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Kerry Sneddon from Forked River, NJ 2/9/2014

I needed a resilient and durable floor in my utility room. I have seven giant breed dogs (Newfoundlands and Great Pyrenees) and normal wear and tear on any other floor surface other than tile or slate is accelerated. These Slate Flex tiles went down impeccably and I put a bead of silicone sealant down along all the seams before tapping them in place. It provided a waterproof joint and excess silicone in the seam peeled right off after a few hours. The surface has provided good traction for the dogs and clean up is simple with just a damp sponge mop. I am seriously considering putting this resilient flooring down throughout the major traffic patterns in my house, it's that good!!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Utility room
Perfect Solution
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Suzanna V. from Tacoma, WA 12/6/2013

Here are some before and afters. I'm so pleased it looks and feels great !!! Perfect solution for a basement.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
Stair project.
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Chris J from San Diego, CA 11/15/2013

I removed the carpeting from my stairs and replaced it with wood risers and brown Slate Flex tiles for the treads and stair turnaround. I decided to use the Slate Flex tiles instead of wood treads/flooring for the stair treads and stair turnaround after receiving a sample and deciding it would offer better grip for my two large dogs to get up and down the stairs while still looking good. So far it looks great, the dogs can get up and down pretty easily and it is holding up very well. I left the flooring for the turnaround as a “floating” floor, it stays in place nicely with the inter locking feature and the side walls holding it in place (with a proper gap) , the stair treads are interlocked and cut to fit (10” x 40” step tread), then bonded (using flexible adhesive) and nailed in a few places using a 18 gauge brad nails from a nail gun with the pressure set correctly.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Stairs and stair turnaround.
Looks Great!
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Daniel M. from Highland, NY 9/3/2013

The floor looks great! Thanks.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
Easy as pie
4/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Boston, MA 6/30/2013

We are finishing a basement and wanted a durable, easy to install floor. Carpet is a no-no (been there done that), if you ever have any water problem, even a small one the carpet has to be pulled. Wood is a no-no for same reason. We preferred not to have to install a sub-floor so that left tile out --- and tile is cold in basement. A floor with some insulating factor is a great plus in a basement. We were going to go with a floating floor cork tile then stumbled on slate flex rubber floor. Met all the criteria, floating installation, some insulating factor and impervious to any water. Installed it in the bathroom yesterday. It was an easy installation, even in a bathroom where there was lots of cutting to fit around shower, toilet drain, etc. It looks great, not as high end as cork or tile would have looked but very good for what it is. We will be putting silicone sealant around the seam where the tile meets the shower, on all other edges we installed a baseboard on top of the tile to cover the expansion gap. I am giving the product a 4 (not a 5) because I do not yet have enough experience with how it holds up over time.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
new basement
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Alan from Bellmore, NY 4/17/2013

great product. neat and clean floor after Sandy rebuild.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - basement
The new office
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Tony from Camarillo, CA 4/6/2013

This was the last room to be remodeled in our late 50's home. The house was moved to the site in 1961 and needless to say, we have some issues in the house with the "not so flat" sub-flooring. This product was the answer to the "issues" we had. 2 days and the install was complete (did it myself). Take your time, be patient and measure twice. We covered the office, into an attached Bath and walkin closet. The floor is laying flat on a not so flat floor and no lifting at any seams. It's easy to clean and so far, shows no marks. The only down side is the noise from the office chair rolling across a textured surface. 3 quick install tips: 1, change blades often on the box cutter or tile knife. It will make the cutting cleaner and much easier. 2, Place an old white sock over the head of the rubber mallet used to set the seams. This will not only help the mallet slide a little, but prevent it from making any black marks on the tiles. 3. Order more than you think you need. There is lots of waste due to the tile being installed in one direction only. Great product.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Office, bath, closet
Great floor covering.
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Tony C from Niagara Falls, NY 7/19/2012

I have been wanting to do something with my peeling and cracked garage floor for a couple of years now. I used that paint with the specks but it didn't really stick well on some spots. I used a patching cement on some cracks but it just made some rough patches. Sanding and refinishing was almost $3000. So I was watching I Want That and it had these tiles. We thought about it for about 2 minutes and went on their site, figured out how may tiles and what colors and some pattern. A few days later it arrived. Took 2 of us a couple of days since the floor's not really flat. A nice flat floor would be quicker. I used a multi tool to make cuts. Really easy. Now, I have a living room floor in my garage that's easy to clean and looks great. I would do it again!!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage
Great bathroom floor
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Pulaski, VA 7/18/2012

I needed something for my bathroom floor that would be easy and quick. This was the best choice by far. I love the floor. It looks great. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - bathroom
Garage flooring makeover
4/5Slate Flex Tiles
Kent H. from Cedarburg, WI 7/16/2012

After having terrible results using the "epoxy" solution, I saw the flex slate tiles on HGTV and decided to give it a try. Well, after a day and a half, my 3 car garage looks great. Installation was easy, the hardest part was cutting the tiles. I would have given the rating 5 stars, but I still have to see how the tiles hold up to the Wisconsin winter.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - 3 car garage
Sturdy with good looks
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from New Iberia, LA 5/9/2012

With two large dogs we were looking for a durable floor for our covered patio. After discussing our options with a service rep, we opted for the vinyl slate tiles. Turned out to be an excellent choice, looks great, a little tougher to cut with a utility knife, but worth the effort. Threw the paint roller away!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - attached covered patio
Hallway in Beach House
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Corolla, NC 5/4/2012

This was our second purchase of this product. We have a vacation home on OBX and did a remodel recently leaving the vinyl flooring in downstairs hallway looking very bad. It is glued down to concrete so a nightmare to remove so we used the Slate Flex to go on top of it. It is thin enough to avoid issues with thresholds, heavy enough to stay put when laid down, and tough enough to stand up to the wet and sandy feet that walk on it. Easy to clean up and in the unlikely event it is damaged then a piece can be pulled up and replaced. This is a perfect product for the climate etc. and it looks really good on the floor. We bought an electric shear/cutter to assist in the long cuts and it made fitting a breeze.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - First level hallway/laundry room
Man Cave Complete!
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Jay Fletcher from Orem, UT 4/30/2012

I bought a Tuff Shed and finished it myself, wired, insulated and drywalled. It came with a composite wood product floor that needed to be covered. A buddy of mine recommended Rubber Flooring Inc. I ordered the slate floor after looking at their sample. It came via truck within a week. The floor went down super easy! I have a Shopsmith I used to trim in the side tiles. I dialed in a slow blade speed and had no problems with melting as I cut the tiles. Made installation super easy and quick. My son and I got the floor down in about 4 hours in my 12x16 shed. I am really happy with the result!! It looks awesome and was exactly what I wanted. I did have left over tiles, but I'll save them in case of an accident in the future. These folks are great to work with! The floor is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. The old saying, "Good products aren't cheap, and cheap products aren't good!!" certainly applies here.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Tuff Shed
Great Product!
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Arlington, Texas 4/6/2012

I bought this product to finish out a Garage renovation. I could not be happier. This DIY project went off without a hitch.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage - Home Gym
Love this floor
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Iowa 3/30/2012

I got this flooring for a 4-season room, which gets alot of in and out traffic with lots of mud, etc. Also have 2 dogs. I wanted to see how it would hold up because I would also like to put it in my kitchen. Dogs and dirt are no match for this floor. Just sweep, and damp mop with water and it looks like new. I put a couple of spare pieces under the feet of my couch to make sure it wouldn't dent, or scratch and discovered I didn't need to do that. Very tough. As soon as I get the rest of my kitchen renovated, will be ordering more of same.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - 4 season room
Perfect solution
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
The Amari's from Corolla, NC 3/25/2012

We added an elevator tower to our vacation home that included an entry alcove on three levels. Impossible to find carpet to match the existing that's in adjacent spaces. Some day we hope to replace carpet with hardwood but in the meantime we wanted to put down a floating floor in the alcove area..... gave this product a try. It looks fabulous and is clearly going to stand up to the summer traffic (home is rented out by the week). We like the looks etc. so much that we are going to add it to a covered patio area by the pool and also in a workshop. It is a little tough to cut but keep a ready suppy of new blades on hand for the razor knife along with a 36" metal straight edge (use as guide) and you'll do fine. Took my husband 2-3 swipes to cut through while it took me more like 5 or 6. If it was easy to cut it would not be tough enough to stand up to the foot traffic so there's a trade off I guess.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Elevator alcove/entrance
Great product
4/5Slate Flex Tiles
Joe Hernandez from Miami, Fl 3/2/2012

Looks great and easy to put down. Totally transformed my garage. One suggestion would be to change the way the tiles interlock. Because of the tab pattern, tiles only connect one way (in one orientation). If you have a leftover piece you cannot turn it and use it in a different location. If your room needs a half-tile course to complete you cannot take a full tile and cut to use both halves. Something to think about when ordering. Customer service was excellent!! Would buy from Rubberflooring again.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage
Fantastic
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Rich Jones from Odenton, MD 2/14/2012

I just finished installing slate flex tiles in my basement craft room. Excellent flooring; very rich looking. It's absolutely beautiful. Easy to install directly on the concrete foundation. I used a rubber mallet to join the tiles together and save the thumbs. It was easy to cut with a sharp utility knife. So far we couldn't be more pleased.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement craft room
Looks Great!
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Jeffrey G. from Oradell, NJ 2/13/2012



Images sent in by happy customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer

My home gym with slate flex tiles. Thanks!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Slate Tiles Installed In My Home Gym
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Oradell, NJ 2/8/2012

The tiles are excellent. Installation was easy. The colors are great. And the material is perfect for the gym area. The finished look belies how easy it was to achieve.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Excellent experience
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Betty Francis from Dayton, Oh 8/15/2011

I was really impressed with your company. I had originally placed my order online which was very easy to navigate. I really liked the design center and how it calculated how many tiles I needed. I received a call 2 days later telling me that one of the colors that I had ordered was no longer available. The girl I was talking to suggested a similar color which I agreed to. I then received another phone call from the same girl who told me she had walked back to the warehouse and looked at the color she had suggested and thought it was a little too light. She found another color she thought I would like better and called me with that suggestion. I received my order 2 days later and am very pleased with it. I wish I would have gotten the girls name that I talked to. I would like to say that she went that extra mile to make sure I got want I wanted, so to her THANK YOU I am a very satisfied customer.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - In a childs bedroom
Excellent product
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Greenwich, CT 5/7/2011

The tiles worked out very well. Shipping was on time, tile color match was perfect, and installation went very smoothly as advertised.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Shed for lawn machinery, tools, fertilizer, etc.
Difficult to Cut But Attractive/Durable
4/5Slate Flex Tiles
Mike Black 45 from Baltimore Maryland 4/12/2011

This rubber product is not very thick, but it is extremely tough to cut. I was not able to cut it using a sharp utility knife as advertised. We used a circular saw which caused the rubber to become hot and smoke while cutting. This made special cuts (angled cuts) difficult. The installed product looks great but does not offer much cushioning since it is thin and installed directly on top of the plywood floor sheets. This was installed in a small weight training room and I think a thicker material with more cushioning would be a better fit. The slate finish is handsome and the overall appearance is nice. I am eager to see how it wears and the scratch resistance ability. One thing to note, is that if you cut a tile in half, you cannot reuse the remaining half. It will not mate up with a new piece. The interlocking patterns will not match. I was almost short on materials.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - weight room
the laundry room solution
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
dave Zdanok from staten island, NY 12/22/2010

this product was an easy fix in our laundry room makeover. It installed easily oner an unsightly painted concrete floor, was easy to work with and offered the option to be taken up in the event of a water problem. I would recommend this product. My only issue was the website color ordered (olive branch) was nowhere near what I received and would consider a sample request in the future. My plan was for a 3 color floor pattern and wound up going all tuscany green which wound up fine. Customer service was prompt and return was handled well.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Laundry room
Excellent surface all around
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Christopher from San Jose, CA 11/30/2010

They took longer to lay than I expected, since virtually all the wall pieces had to be cut, as well as those around the stairs. For tricky cuts, use corrugated and make a template of the piece you need. Only after it's perfect should you then cut a tile to match. Tiles take 3-4 passes with a quality utility knife/box cutter to slice. Easy and precise. I've dropped many tools, and roughly laid down many pieces of wood - and no concrete damage. That's awesome! Also, everyone who sees the garage says "Awesome floor" or "I really like this floor" even if they've seen it before! It's the best, and really makes the space rock.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage woodworking workshop
installation
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Louis Lauro from New York City, NY 8/29/2010

We're very satisfied with appearance. Initially had trouble with cutting. Used my sabre saw with fine teeth, but that was messy and time-consuming althoug the result was OK. Consulted my very knowledgeable hardware store guy who recommended a Ronan multicut tool which worked quite well. I'm not a particularly skilled handyman but I did the project anyway - a very small floor area in a bathroom which required only six tiles.Used black caulking material to fill in spaces along the edge and around the toilet bowl. That worked OK as far as appearances. Wished I'd had some simple way of making a template for the irregular edges. Also wished I'd had some marking pen to mark where the tiles should be cut. We're planning an installation in our kitchen over an existing vinyl tile floor which is level and clean. It would be real helpful to have some more specific instructions about the layout. (I know with vinyl tiles they suggest making a chalk marks at the center of the room and working out from there)

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - small bathroom
Best Flooring for Sheds
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Karen from Goleta, CA 8/3/2010

I ordered the Slate Flex Tiles for my new Tuff-Shed and installed them myself. I had looked around for other tiles in stores and on line and with the calculator online to figure how many tiles I needed was a great plus. These tiles were easy to install and it looks professional. The tiles are a great quality and I would recommend them to anyone thinking of tiling a floor.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Tuff-Shed
Flex-Tiles perfect; not just for garages
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Feather Your Nest Interiors from Lexington, KY 3/15/2010

We used the flexi tiles in an interior space used for home gym, office, and mud room-it floated over a very slippery ceramic tile floor that was a hazard. The tiles installed easily, cut with a utility knife, and look fantastic! They are expensive, but when you figure in that there are no adhesives to buy or extra materials, also the do-it-yourself labor, it isn't so much more than other flooring. The PVC is indestructible, love it!!!! This floor is perfect for basements or any interior space. Can't wait to find another client to use it!! Priced it everywhere, and Rubber Flooring Inc. gave us the best price in the country...even better than the big boxes and way more helpful.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - home gym/office/sunroom
great floor for basement
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Karla from Christiansburg, Va 2/19/2010

We installed the slate tiles in our basement. They were easy to put down and it looks great! I shopped around and rubber flooring had the best price.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
slate tiles
3/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from Boston, MA 11/29/2009

Purchased the slate pattern tiles for our play basement. Turned out to be more time consuming to install than thought. Also, disappointed they are so thin and not as cushiony as thought. They do look nice though. Delivery and service from rubberflooring.com was excellent. Few tiles missing from box were shipped quickly.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
Slate garage
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Anonymous from FL 10/30/2009

Quality, quantity, color, price, shipping all excellent.

  • Did you install it yourself - No
  • Where did you install it - garage
Second Great Floor
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Carol from Corsica, PA 10/26/2009

This is my second Slate Pattern floor. After being very satisfied with my kitchen floor, I ordered one for my home office. It arrived quickly as did the first one. I am very pleased with the quality of the product and the ease of putting it down. I highly recommend this flooring. Both floors are in high traffic areas and I have had no problem with the tile shifting. I did use foam tape on some edge pieces that were cut to fit and didn't snap into the main floor.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home office, entryway
Great Floor
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Carol from Corsica, PA 10/21/2009

I got Terracotta tile for in my kitchen. My daughter put it down for me one evening. It was very easy to work with and once she got the hang of cutting it, things went quickly. It looks great. It feels great to walk on. I am so pleased with it that I just placed another order for a new floor in my entryway/office.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - kitchen
Great loking product
5/5Slate Flex Tiles
Pete M. from Savannah, GA 9/23/2009

Installed in my laundry room and just ordered more for my basement. Very happy with quality and looks of product. Shipping speed and customer service was great.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Laundry Room