Customer Reviews: 7/8" Tatami Tiles

7/8" Tatami Tiles Reviews

7/8" Tatami Tiles
Our price
$1.88 sqft
$7.52 Tile
reg: $2.51 sqft
tile $10.03
We'd love your feedback
Average Rating 4.8/5
(121 reviews)
results 1-20 of 121

Good economical mats for home use

4/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Russ from Idaho
02/24/2014
I ordered 120 square feet of the 7/8" tatami mats for portable home use in my living room. My family trains karate (stand up striking), jiu-jitsu (ground work grappling), and general calisthenics fitness on these.

The kids love leaving them out to play on and even watch movies on. They've also found that the puzzle edges allow you to build many boxes and triangles creating excellent forts! So, that's an unexpected side benefit ;)

We've had them for about 2 weeks now. Overall I am satisfied. I was able to order these brand new with shipping included for less than some local sellers were selling used mats... so the price is excellent.

The quality is good. Puzzle interlocks are cut very well and fit nicely together. The tatami finish has a nice texture.

Out of the box the tiles are dry to the touch but have a slippery feel. You would not want to do any serious stand up striking/foot-work on these until they've been used a little bit to wear off the slippery. This doesn't take long though, after only a couple grappling sessions they feel like normal. I think just wiping them down with some old towels would do the trick.

The mats provide a lot of cushion. They are not too marshmallowy to stand on, but you can definitely feel them squish a bit under foot. Rolling/wrestling on them is very comfortable. I specifically picked the tatami version over the 1" grappling mats because I expected the tatami mats to be a bit more compressed and less squishy than the grappling mats, making them more useful for stand up work.

They mats are secure, the only time I've had them come loose is when we are grappling along the outer edge and someone pushes out hard on the outer row, then the puzzle pieces can pull free, but it's a quick and easy fix and none of the puzzle edges have ripped.

The surface is not terribly strong. We have to be careful to pick them up after use and make sure all pets have well-trimmed claws if they might wander across them. Ours have a few small claw holes in them after a couple weeks of ownership until we realized we needed to pay a bit more attention to this. I do not believe these would stand up very well to any type of foot wear. If these were being used in any sort of self-defense class I'd be concerned about people wearing any sort of shoes on them. Note: I dont think the manufacturer intends these for anything other than bare foot use... just wanted to point it out to potential buyers.

The size is excellent for home use because the 2'x2' squares are easy to stack and store without taking up an unusual amount of space. For comparison I often train in a dojo that has the 40" square Century puzzle mats. The Century mats have a stronger surface and are harder overall but would be difficult to store in a home environment due to their size. I believe rubberflooringinc.com sells a similar type mat that is comparable to the Century mat and I would probably favor those in any sort of commercial space because they might be a bit stronger.

Overall, I'm very happy with these for recreational home use. I may likely order more in the future for a bit more mat space and if a few get damaged I would order replacements.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home - Living Room
Was this helpful? 17 1

Work Out Flooring

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Tampa, FL
04/15/2013
My knees were tired of doing Insanity and Plyometrics on my concrete garage floor. I got these tiles and the installation took about ten minutes. I did not have to do any kind of cutting so installation times may increase. For me it was more of a plug and play installation. They look great and the stress on my knees is WAY less! I was worried that they would be too "squishy", but they were just right for any type of workouts. I would not place them under heavy equipment. They are definitely worth getting for a workout area and I am planning on getting more for the kids playroom.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Garage/Home Gym
Was this helpful? 6 1

Tatami Tiles Work Great

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Northern KY
04/16/2014
I bought these with the though of covering a few areas for exercise and general purpose. They worked so well, I decided to cover the entire floor with them for my wife's workout room. They are very comfortable, have a good amount of grip with shoes or barefoot. However, I would not recommend socks. If I ever need more flooring like this, I will definitely get more!

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 4 0

I use them as work kneeling pads

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Allan Luster from Los Angeles, CA
07/02/2014
I'm a cabinetmaker & finish carpenter and have never liked kneepads. These 2x2 pads are perfect for work. They are very lightweight but dense enough and thick enough to cushion your knees well. And the price is unbeatable. I have 8 pads, 32 square feet that cost about $50 total versus well over $120 for anything comparable.
Did you install it yourself - No
Where did you install it - Not applicable
Was this helpful? 3 0

Awesomely simple!

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Mark Johnson from Smyrna, GA
05/07/2014
I installed 120 ft.² of these tiles (30) for my concrete basement floor so that I could do my T25 and P90X3 workout programs without joint pain. These absorb the jumping impact so well without being too cushy to simply walk on. They feel firm to walk on, but when you jump, they compress and rebound quite nicely so that you don't "sink in" and lose your balance during one-legged complex movements. Get some! Your joints will thank you!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Basement Home Gym
Was this helpful? 3 1

Gym floor

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Troy, MI
06/23/2014
We just purchased these and they look great in my basement that I use as a gym! A little slippery with stability balls but just put down a mat underneath if it's an issue. Love the look, feel and that their is no rubbery smell and so easy to install!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home gym
Was this helpful? 2 1

Exactly what I was looking for

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Rich F. from Phoenix, AZ
03/15/2012
My sons karate dojo has tiles like these and I figured why not get some for home. They are great and now we can practice at home without Mom getting too mad or worried.
RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Spare bedroom turned into a kids playroom
Was this helpful? 2 1

Exactly what we wanted

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Kathi from Westminster, CO
02/12/2017
This floor is exactly what we were looking for. We no more than ordered it...and it was here in just a couple days. Installation was easy (except our room wasn't square making for lots of cutting)...but it came out fantastic. We did install over carpet pad and it is working out great for us and makes a super comfortable floor to jump on. We still haven't figured out the "door thresholds" to go from rubber flooring to tile floor and rubber flooring to carpet but think we will end up making our own "transitions" out of the extra rubber. Super product, great company, highly recommend.

RubberFlooringInc - Customer Photo
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 1 0

7/8" tatami tiles

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Debra from Weimar, TX
02/07/2017
I bought 3 of these for a workout mat. It was enough cushion to enable me to do situps comfortably on a concrete floor. It also fits neatly under my couch which I tuck my feet under while doing situps. Very happy with the purchase.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - home
Was this helpful? 1 0

Outstanding Product

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Murphy, TX
09/17/2015
Product was well priced and better quality than anything I found in local stores, very pleased with my purchase
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 1 0

perfect and good deal

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Arlington Tx
05/14/2017
These were a great solution for the 10 by 11 room that I use as a den and workout room. They were easy to install and very comfy to workout on. It is not good to set light weight furniture on them
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home gym
Was this helpful? 0 0

Great

4/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Sturgis mi
04/02/2017
Love omg the matts easy to use and easy to put togather
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home
Was this helpful? 0 0

7/8 tile

4/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from New England
12/20/2016
Pro's- Easy to install, looks great, fun to play with the kids, Great for kids playroom and workout area. Con's- some times with winter weather it creates a static charge.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Multi purpose basement- Kids play area and home gy
Was this helpful? 0 0

Interlocking mat

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Denver CO
10/28/2016
I was setting up a workout area in my basement and with my arthritic knees, this mat has been wonderful. Durable, thick, very useful
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - home gym
Was this helpful? 0 0

Great for the kids play area

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Pearl from chicago, Illinois
08/30/2016
I personalized with decals and the kids love them!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Kids playroom
Was this helpful? 0 0

Looks great, but a bit slippery

3/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Pennsylvania
06/20/2016
I got the tatami pattern because I'm going for a zen modern theme. I was so excited to find this flooring and having it is a huge improvement to the laminate flooring that was in the room before. It's much easier on my joints whenever I do floor exercises or jumping exercises. The only issue I have is that the lines that create the tatami image make the floor slippery when I'm in plank position or trying to do push-ups. I guess I should be grateful for the extra core work!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - New house
Was this helpful? 0 0

Great for babies

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Oregon
06/18/2016
Very think and soft; our daughter lover crawling on it in her playroom
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it -
Was this helpful? 0 0

tent floor

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Chris from St. Louis, MO.
06/08/2016
we're using these foam tiles when we go camping on the floor of our tent. they're working out perfectly for us. they arrived within a day of ordering without our paying extra for shipping.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - tent
Was this helpful? 0 0

Nice and thick and colorful!

5/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Austin, TX
06/07/2016
We use these for a toddler class flooring and the thickness is nice as well as the bright colors. I ordered samples first and am happy with what I chose.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - on tile flooring
Was this helpful? 0 0

Amazing tiles but...

4/5 7/8" Tatami Tiles
Houkje from Modesto, CA
05/30/2016
So first I want to say that we LOVE these tiles. We purchased them to create a large 14'x16' play area for our son who has hemophilia and was just learning to crawl. When the tiles arrived they were perfect and were so very easy to install. They are softer the the regular topped tiles that we had before and feel so good on the feet and knees as we try to keep up with our busy boy! They really are perfect for a playroom with a few "buts..." First of all, like I said these are very soft which is a benefit if your little one is going to be crawling around, learning to walk, and falling over all the time. However, if you have cats and a dog like we do, these tiles do show claw marks very easily. We have had them installed for a little over a week, and already you can see quite a few claw marks from the kitty cats just playing in here. If you intend to set furniture on top of it, they also show the marks from the furniture easily. I figure we will have to replace at least some of the tiles once a year because of this. Also, when putting them together we found that some of the corner seems did not match up perfectly so liquids etc. could easily fit into those cracks if water or something else was spilled directly on that area. Other than that, these are amazing and I would highly recommend them especially if you don't have pets. Also, the customer service and shipping were amazing! We will definitely be buying our tiles here exclusively!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home playroom
Was this helpful? 0 0
results 1-20 of 121