7/8" Tatami Tiles

Our price
$1.85 sqft
$7.40 Tile
reg: $2.47 sqft
tile $9.87
We'd love your feedback
Write a review
Average Rating 4.8/5
(45 reviews)

Tatami Tiles Work Great
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Northern KY 4/16/2014

I bought these with the though of covering a few areas for exercise and general purpose. They worked so well, I decided to cover the entire floor with them for my wife's workout room. They are very comfortable, have a good amount of grip with shoes or barefoot. However, I would not recommend socks. If I ever need more flooring like this, I will definitely get more!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Great Garage Workout Flooring
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Rocklin, CA 4/12/2014

Very comfortable. Easy to assemble. We have been using with P90X3 workouts and it has been great. A little slick for Yoga to start but I am sure that will dissipate with Break in.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage
Good Quality
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Randolph NJ 3/26/2014

Fast shipping , good quality.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Awesome Home Gym Flooring
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Sandra Cole from Bowie, MD 3/20/2014

I am so pleased with the Tatami Mats I selected for my home gym. They arrived on time, and It only took my husband and I 45min to put together our floor. Amazing product! Durable and soft at the same time.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
First review ever
4/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Jeff from Tampa 3/18/2014

Just had to chime in, this company did me right....quick response....the floor mats product is amazing, even better than I expected... I'm really really pleased

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
I searched hard and found this
4/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Steve from San Jose CA 3/10/2014

After searching over tons of exercise mats and rubbing flooring for my home gym this is where I stopped and I'm very happy with my flooring so far after about a month of ownership. Tiles lock together well and no strong odor that other flooring options had. I find this is the perfect thickness as it's not too thin where it doesn't help and It's not too thick if that's even a possibility. The tiles do only work one way when it comes it comes to corners and side pieces so make sure you plan out your flooring pattern before using pieces for the middle tiles.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Kitchen dining area for home gym
Good economical mats for home use
4/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Russ from Idaho 2/24/2014

I ordered 120 square feet of the 7/8" tatami mats for portable home use in my living room. My family trains karate (stand up striking), jiu-jitsu (ground work grappling), and general calisthenics fitness on these.

The kids love leaving them out to play on and even watch movies on. They've also found that the puzzle edges allow you to build many boxes and triangles creating excellent forts! So, that's an unexpected side benefit ;)

We've had them for about 2 weeks now. Overall I am satisfied. I was able to order these brand new with shipping included for less than some local sellers were selling used mats... so the price is excellent.

The quality is good. Puzzle interlocks are cut very well and fit nicely together. The tatami finish has a nice texture.

Out of the box the tiles are dry to the touch but have a slippery feel. You would not want to do any serious stand up striking/foot-work on these until they've been used a little bit to wear off the slippery. This doesn't take long though, after only a couple grappling sessions they feel like normal. I think just wiping them down with some old towels would do the trick.

The mats provide a lot of cushion. They are not too marshmallowy to stand on, but you can definitely feel them squish a bit under foot. Rolling/wrestling on them is very comfortable. I specifically picked the tatami version over the 1" grappling mats because I expected the tatami mats to be a bit more compressed and less squishy than the grappling mats, making them more useful for stand up work.

They mats are secure, the only time I've had them come loose is when we are grappling along the outer edge and someone pushes out hard on the outer row, then the puzzle pieces can pull free, but it's a quick and easy fix and none of the puzzle edges have ripped.

The surface is not terribly strong. We have to be careful to pick them up after use and make sure all pets have well-trimmed claws if they might wander across them. Ours have a few small claw holes in them after a couple weeks of ownership until we realized we needed to pay a bit more attention to this. I do not believe these would stand up very well to any type of foot wear. If these were being used in any sort of self-defense class I'd be concerned about people wearing any sort of shoes on them. Note: I dont think the manufacturer intends these for anything other than bare foot use... just wanted to point it out to potential buyers.

The size is excellent for home use because the 2'x2' squares are easy to stack and store without taking up an unusual amount of space. For comparison I often train in a dojo that has the 40" square Century puzzle mats. The Century mats have a stronger surface and are harder overall but would be difficult to store in a home environment due to their size. I believe rubberflooringinc.com sells a similar type mat that is comparable to the Century mat and I would probably favor those in any sort of commercial space because they might be a bit stronger.

Overall, I'm very happy with these for recreational home use. I may likely order more in the future for a bit more mat space and if a few get damaged I would order replacements.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home - Living Room
Tatami tiles
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from San Diego 2/14/2014

Great product for my childcare program! Would order them again for sure.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Playground
Perfect floor matting
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Morristown, NJ 2/13/2014

These tiles are perfect for doing yoga and Pilates on my basement floor. As an added bonus they insulate the floor as well. The mats are warmer than the ceramic tiles on cement base layer. It's great to walk barefoot on the 7/8" tatami mats.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
A little thin
4/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Tim from Hudson, NH 2/11/2014

Everything was as expected except the thickness of the floor tile. Apparently this measurement discrepancy is standard and now I know to recommend the 1" thick tile when 7/8" is specified. We are using the floor tile for our workout room in our new home on a concrete floor of the first level. We put down carpet squares and the Tatami floor tiles on top with very good results. I will recommend this product to anyone looking for very good rubber floor tiles with the notice about measurement. It seems to me that a flooring company could easily distinguish itself by advertising their measurements as true.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Home Gym with Tatami Tiles
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from North Reading, MA 2/11/2014

Even before the final touches, our home gym is great for workouts with Tatami floor tiles from Rubber Flooring, Inc.!

  • Did you install it yourself - No
  • Where did you install it -
Good price, great product
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Emily Brown from Pittsburgh, PA 2/4/2014

Easy to install!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - basement
All around good product and experience
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
RT from Oak Ridge, NC 1/18/2014

We ordered tiles to make an excercise mat in the basement. It is 15' x 15', blue with a black border, and we put a punching bag to one side. It only took a few minutes to set up. It looks great and is very nice cushioning for sit ups and jumping. I was concerned there may be an odor from being new but there wasn't. They shipped very quickly. Our martial arts school uses these same tiles for portable event mats-even outside-and they haven't had any trouble with durability. So I expect our mat to last a very long time. Overall this is a very good product and the company was easy to work with!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
Great for floor workouts
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Ivy from Holly Springs, NC 1/12/2014

We used this to cover half of our garage home gym. We have a full-sized bowflex, free weights with heavy storage rack, kettlebells, and medicine balls on this flooring and there is no issue with gapping or coming apart at the seams. Super easy installation, just use your hands and fingers to press puzzle pieces together. Very sturdy, thick flooring that's also easy on the tailbone, knees and elbows. for floor exercises. There's no smell like with the rubber flooring. It retains heat very well and never feels cold, even on concrete floor. Highly recommended!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage home gym
basement room
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Parker, CO 12/29/2013

Love the product. it's nice to look at and I work out on it to RIPPED IN 30 by Jillian Michaels. It's in a theatre/workout room, I laid a rug in the center when we are not working out, and it looks great!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement theater room/work out room
So far so good!
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Moore, OK 12/28/2013

Have used the mats in 3-4 classes. The mats have quite a cushion for grappling and take downs. The fit is tight and they do not split apart. So far so good!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Portable school
Another amazing deal!!!
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Dylan Courtney from Goodyear, AZ 12/13/2013

Didn't actually think the mats would be this great and cheap! Not to mention it was delivered the next day!!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage
Love it!
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Brigid Rupp from Indianapolis, in 12/12/2013

The floor arrived promptly and was a breeze to install. It is comfortable to walk and exercise on. I would buy the tiles again.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home gym
Tatami Floor
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Bert from Pasadena, MD 12/11/2013

Good Quality, easy to install, flexible uses, kids love it!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
Great for insanity workout
5/57/8" Tatami Tiles
Kelli from Pequot lakes minnesota 12/9/2013

Love to tiles only negative thing is they do slide if not wall to wall. Otherwise great protection for your joints so much better on impact of plyometrics jumping.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - My barber shop