Don't forget your FREE Samples! | Save 25% off ENTIRE site!
30 Day Money Back Guarantee Price Match
(800) 613-0996
Our price
$1.89 sqft
$7.56 Tile
reg: $2.52 sqft
tile $10.08
We'd love your feedback
Average Rating 4.8/5
(69 reviews)
results 1-20 of 69
I use them as work kneeling pads
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Allan Luster from Los Angeles, CA
07/02/2014
I'm a cabinetmaker & finish carpenter and have never liked kneepads. These 2x2 pads are perfect for work. They are very lightweight but dense enough and thick enough to cushion your knees well. And the price is unbeatable. I have 8 pads, 32 square feet that cost about $50 total versus well over $120 for anything comparable.
Did you install it yourself - No
Where did you install it - Not applicable
Was this helpful? 259 0
Good economical mats for home use
4/5 Tatami Tiles
Russ from Idaho
02/24/2014
I ordered 120 square feet of the 7/8" tatami mats for portable home use in my living room. My family trains karate (stand up striking), jiu-jitsu (ground work grappling), and general calisthenics fitness on these.

The kids love leaving them out to play on and even watch movies on. They've also found that the puzzle edges allow you to build many boxes and triangles creating excellent forts! So, that's an unexpected side benefit ;)

We've had them for about 2 weeks now. Overall I am satisfied. I was able to order these brand new with shipping included for less than some local sellers were selling used mats... so the price is excellent.

The quality is good. Puzzle interlocks are cut very well and fit nicely together. The tatami finish has a nice texture.

Out of the box the tiles are dry to the touch but have a slippery feel. You would not want to do any serious stand up striking/foot-work on these until they've been used a little bit to wear off the slippery. This doesn't take long though, after only a couple grappling sessions they feel like normal. I think just wiping them down with some old towels would do the trick.

The mats provide a lot of cushion. They are not too marshmallowy to stand on, but you can definitely feel them squish a bit under foot. Rolling/wrestling on them is very comfortable. I specifically picked the tatami version over the 1" grappling mats because I expected the tatami mats to be a bit more compressed and less squishy than the grappling mats, making them more useful for stand up work.

They mats are secure, the only time I've had them come loose is when we are grappling along the outer edge and someone pushes out hard on the outer row, then the puzzle pieces can pull free, but it's a quick and easy fix and none of the puzzle edges have ripped.

The surface is not terribly strong. We have to be careful to pick them up after use and make sure all pets have well-trimmed claws if they might wander across them. Ours have a few small claw holes in them after a couple weeks of ownership until we realized we needed to pay a bit more attention to this. I do not believe these would stand up very well to any type of foot wear. If these were being used in any sort of self-defense class I'd be concerned about people wearing any sort of shoes on them. Note: I dont think the manufacturer intends these for anything other than bare foot use... just wanted to point it out to potential buyers.

The size is excellent for home use because the 2'x2' squares are easy to stack and store without taking up an unusual amount of space. For comparison I often train in a dojo that has the 40" square Century puzzle mats. The Century mats have a stronger surface and are harder overall but would be difficult to store in a home environment due to their size. I believe rubberflooringinc.com sells a similar type mat that is comparable to the Century mat and I would probably favor those in any sort of commercial space because they might be a bit stronger.

Overall, I'm very happy with these for recreational home use. I may likely order more in the future for a bit more mat space and if a few get damaged I would order replacements.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home - Living Room
Was this helpful? 5 0
Gym floor
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Troy, MI
06/23/2014
We just purchased these and they look great in my basement that I use as a gym! A little slippery with stability balls but just put down a mat underneath if it's an issue. Love the look, feel and that their is no rubbery smell and so easy to install!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home gym
Was this helpful? 1 0
Awesomely simple!
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Mark Johnson from Smyrna, GA
05/07/2014
I installed 120 ft.² of these tiles (30) for my concrete basement floor so that I could do my T25 and P90X3 workout programs without joint pain. These absorb the jumping impact so well without being too cushy to simply walk on. They feel firm to walk on, but when you jump, they compress and rebound quite nicely so that you don't "sink in" and lose your balance during one-legged complex movements. Get some! Your joints will thank you!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Basement Home Gym
Was this helpful? 1 0
Tatami Tiles Work Great
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Northern KY
04/16/2014
I bought these with the though of covering a few areas for exercise and general purpose. They worked so well, I decided to cover the entire floor with them for my wife's workout room. They are very comfortable, have a good amount of grip with shoes or barefoot. However, I would not recommend socks. If I ever need more flooring like this, I will definitely get more!

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 1 0
Work Out Flooring
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Tampa, FL
04/15/2013
My knees were tired of doing Insanity and Plyometrics on my concrete garage floor. I got these tiles and the installation took about ten minutes. I did not have to do any kind of cutting so installation times may increase. For me it was more of a plug and play installation. They look great and the stress on my knees is WAY less! I was worried that they would be too "squishy", but they were just right for any type of workouts. I would not place them under heavy equipment. They are definitely worth getting for a workout area and I am planning on getting more for the kids playroom.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Garage/Home Gym
Was this helpful? 1 0
Exactly what I was looking for
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Rich F. from Phoenix, AZ
03/15/2012
My sons karate dojo has tiles like these and I figured why not get some for home. They are great and now we can practice at home without Mom getting too mad or worried.
RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Spare bedroom turned into a kids playroom
Was this helpful? 1 0
Exactly what I needed
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Happy Customer from San Antonio TX
12/20/2014
This product is great. I bought the tiles because I needed a surface to jump rope on that wouldn't hurt my knees. The tiles are firm, yet offer great cushion.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it -
Was this helpful? 0 0
Perfect for toddlers
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Illinois
12/17/2014
As we have hardwood or tile floors, we needed a soft surface for our granddaughters to sit and crawl around on. We purchased enough rubber tatami tiles for an 8' x 8' square. Tried it out Thanksgiving weekend and it was perfect!! The tile was nice and soft and could be picked up at the end of the day. This purchase was just what we wanted. Thanks so much. We highly recommend this product and are very happy with our purchase.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Family room and kitchen. Can be easily moved arou
Was this helpful? 0 0
Great Buy
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Reecy from Lawrenceville, GA
12/16/2014
It was super easy to install and setup in my garage. I will buy more later definitely but 16 squares was plenty to get started. These are easy to pick up and stack as well if you wanted a floor that was not always going to be there for say your living room. Work out take it apart and slide it under the couch or stack it back in the ottoman
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Garage
Was this helpful? 0 0
Great product
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Andrea from Denver, CO
12/10/2014
The tiles arrived really fast. I'm using them as a play mat for my son. They are durable and soft, but not difficult to walk on. Much better than the thin ones sold at kids stores.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - play room
Was this helpful? 0 0
Great Value, Great Performer
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Chris from Upstate New York
10/15/2014
I needed something inexpensive to effectively cushion 50 to 80lb dumbbell drops during workouts. Therefore I use this product differently than most would, as I stack the tiles thick enough to sustain drops as high as two feet or more from the bench. And boy do they work! Before I found rubberflooring, I looked directy at products associated with gym equipment and the prices were at $1,000 or more for rubber flooring mats. I paid just over $50 here for 8 tiles and problem solved. And they look nice too. Thanks Rubber Flooring!!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 0 0
Great Product!!
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Chris from Miami
10/15/2014
This company is simply awesome. From the free samples to the online measuring assistant they are top notch! The Tatami tiles are great and have no smell which was my biggest concern. Just be careful if you plan on using weights as it'll leave an indent. What I did to counter this issue is bought a 4 pack of the black foam tiles sold in walmart for like $12 and that is where I keep my weights. As for practicing standup martial arts its perfect!
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 0 0
Great multipurpose pad.
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Ron K from Leander, TX
10/14/2014
Very durable mat for use in the kids play area. Easy to clean and can get very creative with pattern design. Also, a very cost effective means of shadowing a tool box. The dense foam is great for outlining tools and the contrasting color makes it obvious when a tool is missing. As a mechanic, it's an easy way to keep track of tools. Super product and a great value.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it -
Was this helpful? 0 0
Works great
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from San Diego
09/15/2014
Used for protecting my floor from puppy.
Did you install it yourself - No
Where did you install it -
Was this helpful? 0 0
great for P90x
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Bill from Knoxville
09/14/2014
Replaced a thinner floor. Really like for P90x. It is not too soft. Fine for weight lifting also.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - basement. home gym
Was this helpful? 0 0
Unsatisfied
1/5 Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Norfolk, VA
09/13/2014
NOt what expected. They were too hard. Would not order from them again
Did you install it yourself - No
Where did you install it -
Was this helpful? 0 0
Very Happy
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Vanesa D. from Jacksonville, NC
09/08/2014
Happy Customer

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 0 0
Good value and easy to install
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from WA
09/05/2014
I found the 7/8" tatami mats to be a perfect covering for a basement room with cement flooring. The height matched up well with the adjoining carpeted room and it has a great barefoot feel. Also much easier to clean than the rough concrete. Installation - pretty easy and sorta fun 1) Start in a corner and work your way out. 2) As you add a new tile, press it slightly towards the previously installed ones to get a little press fit and avoid mini cracks between them 3) Measure first for cutting custom edges! 4) I cut long ~1/16" to get a press fit. There is kind of a sweet spot where it will take a little pressure to put into place, but with then stay there and avoid a crack between the mat and the wall 5) Cutting is really easy with a straight edge and a box cutter. The backside of the cuts was rough since I didn't cut all the way through on the first pass, but you can't see it so I didn't care. Cautions: Mats are great to walk on, but will depress considerably under concentrated weight (e.g. the small foot of a shelf). I put down a caster to spread the load a little. Not sure how well it will bounce back since I haven't moved the shelf again. Overall - Price per square foot is great. Seems like a good flooring for some exercise and general use. Cannot comment on child friendliness, but seems like it could be good for that too.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Basement room
Was this helpful? 0 0
Great product
5/5 Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Atlanta
08/28/2014
I looked at some much costlier products but after reading the reviews, went with this product. It was simple and quick to install and is providing great cushioning for my P90x3 workout.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Unfinished basement
Was this helpful? 0 0
results 1-20 of 69