Don't forget your FREE Samples! | Save 25% off ENTIRE site!
30 Day Money Back Guarantee Price Match
(800) 613-0996

Tatami Tiles

Our price
$1.69 sqft
$6.76 Tile
reg: $2.25 sqft
tile $9.01
We'd love your feedback
Write a review
Average Rating 4.8/5
(54 reviews)

I use them as work kneeling pads
5/5Tatami Tiles
Allan Luster from Los Angeles, CA 7/2/2014

I'm a cabinetmaker & finish carpenter and have never liked kneepads. These 2x2 pads are perfect for work. They are very lightweight but dense enough and thick enough to cushion your knees well. And the price is unbeatable. I have 8 pads, 32 square feet that cost about $50 total versus well over $120 for anything comparable.

  • Did you install it yourself - No
  • Where did you install it - Not applicable
Happy with play room flooring
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Los Angeles, CA 6/24/2014

It's been great for 3 wild boys!

  • Did you install it yourself - No
  • Where did you install it -
Gym floor
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Troy, MI 6/23/2014

We just purchased these and they look great in my basement that I use as a gym! A little slippery with stability balls but just put down a mat underneath if it's an issue. Love the look, feel and that their is no rubbery smell and so easy to install!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home gym
Great Mats
5/5Tatami Tiles
Riobárd deMóinbhíol from Chicago 5/27/2014

Great mats,affordable price, good looks.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home gym.
great product
5/5Tatami Tiles
anthony from odesaa,de 5/14/2014

great product, very fair price, very fast shipping....love these mats....very happy

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - home
God product
4/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Cumming, GA 5/13/2014

I purchased this product to build myself an exercise mat. It was very easy to assemble; however, the edges worked only on 3 of he 4 sides of the completed mat. I called Customer Service; they were very friendly and sent me an set of edges; however, none of the pieces they sent did the job, because they we identical to the pieces that did not work initially. I ended up having to cut and glue pieces to complete my exercise mat.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home gym
Awesomely simple!
5/5Tatami Tiles
Mark Johnson from Smyrna, GA 5/7/2014

I installed 120 ft.² of these tiles (30) for my concrete basement floor so that I could do my T25 and P90X3 workout programs without joint pain. These absorb the jumping impact so well without being too cushy to simply walk on. They feel firm to walk on, but when you jump, they compress and rebound quite nicely so that you don't "sink in" and lose your balance during one-legged complex movements. Get some! Your joints will thank you!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement Home Gym
workouts
5/5Tatami Tiles
Larry Doerner from Concord, CA 5/3/2014

I have been using the flooring to do my P90X workouts in my garage, it is exactly what I was hoping for, great support, durable, easy to store and install, I love it!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage
7/8 Tatami Tiles
5/5Tatami Tiles
Mary from Steamboat, Colorado 4/29/2014

I was looking for an exercise mat that would be large enough for me to do floor work as well as cardio. The Tatami tiles are great. No sore knees or back,(from doing sit-ups on the floor). I had great service, delivery was quick and that mat is perfect. Great product and I would recommend to a friend.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - lower level, home gym
Tatami Tiles Work Great
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Northern KY 4/16/2014

I bought these with the though of covering a few areas for exercise and general purpose. They worked so well, I decided to cover the entire floor with them for my wife's workout room. They are very comfortable, have a good amount of grip with shoes or barefoot. However, I would not recommend socks. If I ever need more flooring like this, I will definitely get more!

RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Great Garage Workout Flooring
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Rocklin, CA 4/12/2014

Very comfortable. Easy to assemble. We have been using with P90X3 workouts and it has been great. A little slick for Yoga to start but I am sure that will dissipate with Break in.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage
Good Quality
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Randolph NJ 3/26/2014

Fast shipping , good quality.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Awesome Home Gym Flooring
5/5Tatami Tiles
Sandra Cole from Bowie, MD 3/20/2014

I am so pleased with the Tatami Mats I selected for my home gym. They arrived on time, and It only took my husband and I 45min to put together our floor. Amazing product! Durable and soft at the same time.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
First review ever
4/5Tatami Tiles
Jeff from Tampa 3/18/2014

Just had to chime in, this company did me right....quick response....the floor mats product is amazing, even better than I expected... I'm really really pleased

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
I searched hard and found this
4/5Tatami Tiles
Steve from San Jose CA 3/10/2014

After searching over tons of exercise mats and rubbing flooring for my home gym this is where I stopped and I'm very happy with my flooring so far after about a month of ownership. Tiles lock together well and no strong odor that other flooring options had. I find this is the perfect thickness as it's not too thin where it doesn't help and It's not too thick if that's even a possibility. The tiles do only work one way when it comes it comes to corners and side pieces so make sure you plan out your flooring pattern before using pieces for the middle tiles.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Kitchen dining area for home gym
Good economical mats for home use
4/5Tatami Tiles
Russ from Idaho 2/24/2014

I ordered 120 square feet of the 7/8" tatami mats for portable home use in my living room. My family trains karate (stand up striking), jiu-jitsu (ground work grappling), and general calisthenics fitness on these.

The kids love leaving them out to play on and even watch movies on. They've also found that the puzzle edges allow you to build many boxes and triangles creating excellent forts! So, that's an unexpected side benefit ;)

We've had them for about 2 weeks now. Overall I am satisfied. I was able to order these brand new with shipping included for less than some local sellers were selling used mats... so the price is excellent.

The quality is good. Puzzle interlocks are cut very well and fit nicely together. The tatami finish has a nice texture.

Out of the box the tiles are dry to the touch but have a slippery feel. You would not want to do any serious stand up striking/foot-work on these until they've been used a little bit to wear off the slippery. This doesn't take long though, after only a couple grappling sessions they feel like normal. I think just wiping them down with some old towels would do the trick.

The mats provide a lot of cushion. They are not too marshmallowy to stand on, but you can definitely feel them squish a bit under foot. Rolling/wrestling on them is very comfortable. I specifically picked the tatami version over the 1" grappling mats because I expected the tatami mats to be a bit more compressed and less squishy than the grappling mats, making them more useful for stand up work.

They mats are secure, the only time I've had them come loose is when we are grappling along the outer edge and someone pushes out hard on the outer row, then the puzzle pieces can pull free, but it's a quick and easy fix and none of the puzzle edges have ripped.

The surface is not terribly strong. We have to be careful to pick them up after use and make sure all pets have well-trimmed claws if they might wander across them. Ours have a few small claw holes in them after a couple weeks of ownership until we realized we needed to pay a bit more attention to this. I do not believe these would stand up very well to any type of foot wear. If these were being used in any sort of self-defense class I'd be concerned about people wearing any sort of shoes on them. Note: I dont think the manufacturer intends these for anything other than bare foot use... just wanted to point it out to potential buyers.

The size is excellent for home use because the 2'x2' squares are easy to stack and store without taking up an unusual amount of space. For comparison I often train in a dojo that has the 40" square Century puzzle mats. The Century mats have a stronger surface and are harder overall but would be difficult to store in a home environment due to their size. I believe rubberflooringinc.com sells a similar type mat that is comparable to the Century mat and I would probably favor those in any sort of commercial space because they might be a bit stronger.

Overall, I'm very happy with these for recreational home use. I may likely order more in the future for a bit more mat space and if a few get damaged I would order replacements.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home - Living Room
Tatami tiles
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from San Diego 2/14/2014

Great product for my childcare program! Would order them again for sure.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Playground
Perfect floor matting
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Morristown, NJ 2/13/2014

These tiles are perfect for doing yoga and Pilates on my basement floor. As an added bonus they insulate the floor as well. The mats are warmer than the ceramic tiles on cement base layer. It's great to walk barefoot on the 7/8" tatami mats.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
A little thin
4/5Tatami Tiles
Tim from Hudson, NH 2/11/2014

Everything was as expected except the thickness of the floor tile. Apparently this measurement discrepancy is standard and now I know to recommend the 1" thick tile when 7/8" is specified. We are using the floor tile for our workout room in our new home on a concrete floor of the first level. We put down carpet squares and the Tatami floor tiles on top with very good results. I will recommend this product to anyone looking for very good rubber floor tiles with the notice about measurement. It seems to me that a flooring company could easily distinguish itself by advertising their measurements as true.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Home Gym with Tatami Tiles
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from North Reading, MA 2/11/2014

Even before the final touches, our home gym is great for workouts with Tatami floor tiles from Rubber Flooring, Inc.!

  • Did you install it yourself - No
  • Where did you install it -
Good price, great product
5/5Tatami Tiles
Emily Brown from Pittsburgh, PA 2/4/2014

Easy to install!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - basement
All around good product and experience
5/5Tatami Tiles
RT from Oak Ridge, NC 1/18/2014

We ordered tiles to make an excercise mat in the basement. It is 15' x 15', blue with a black border, and we put a punching bag to one side. It only took a few minutes to set up. It looks great and is very nice cushioning for sit ups and jumping. I was concerned there may be an odor from being new but there wasn't. They shipped very quickly. Our martial arts school uses these same tiles for portable event mats-even outside-and they haven't had any trouble with durability. So I expect our mat to last a very long time. Overall this is a very good product and the company was easy to work with!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
Great for floor workouts
5/5Tatami Tiles
Ivy from Holly Springs, NC 1/12/2014

We used this to cover half of our garage home gym. We have a full-sized bowflex, free weights with heavy storage rack, kettlebells, and medicine balls on this flooring and there is no issue with gapping or coming apart at the seams. Super easy installation, just use your hands and fingers to press puzzle pieces together. Very sturdy, thick flooring that's also easy on the tailbone, knees and elbows. for floor exercises. There's no smell like with the rubber flooring. It retains heat very well and never feels cold, even on concrete floor. Highly recommended!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage home gym
basement room
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Parker, CO 12/29/2013

Love the product. it's nice to look at and I work out on it to RIPPED IN 30 by Jillian Michaels. It's in a theatre/workout room, I laid a rug in the center when we are not working out, and it looks great!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement theater room/work out room
So far so good!
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Moore, OK 12/28/2013

Have used the mats in 3-4 classes. The mats have quite a cushion for grappling and take downs. The fit is tight and they do not split apart. So far so good!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Portable school
Another amazing deal!!!
5/5Tatami Tiles
Dylan Courtney from Goodyear, AZ 12/13/2013

Didn't actually think the mats would be this great and cheap! Not to mention it was delivered the next day!!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage
Love it!
5/5Tatami Tiles
Brigid Rupp from Indianapolis, in 12/12/2013

The floor arrived promptly and was a breeze to install. It is comfortable to walk and exercise on. I would buy the tiles again.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home gym
Tatami Floor
5/5Tatami Tiles
Bert from Pasadena, MD 12/11/2013

Good Quality, easy to install, flexible uses, kids love it!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
Great for insanity workout
5/5Tatami Tiles
Kelli from Pequot lakes minnesota 12/9/2013

Love to tiles only negative thing is they do slide if not wall to wall. Otherwise great protection for your joints so much better on impact of plyometrics jumping.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - My barber shop
Unusual Application
5/5Tatami Tiles
LabradoodleBreeder from Burleson, Tx 11/25/2013

I raise puppies and have a concrete overlay floor resembling stone. That's great but it can be cold and hard and not " new puppy friendly ". So I created a warm soft, and most of all "easy clean " pen flooring out of these 7/8" tiles. Pups are happy and so am I.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - great room floor
Stupendous
5/5Tatami Tiles
Happy Customer from Wisconsin 11/11/2013

We bought these tiles for an unfinished basement; they work wonders. The wife and I were 30 days into the Insanity routine and our knees were definitely suffering from the cement flooring. Even worse, I was about a year removed from a very bad injury (severed patella tendons in both knees...) so my pain was even worse... before the tiles. I've been using these tiles for 30 days now (the more intense portion of insanity) and the pain in my knees from working out is non-existent. These tiles work wonders. They provide sufficient cushioning and don't slide very easily out of the box. We are very pleased with this product. Also, very easy to install, a bit fun too (a lot like putting together a giant puzzle (if you're into that sort of thing... if not i suppose you could have your 4 year old niece or nephew help out)).

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Great for work-outs
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Minnetonka, MN 10/20/2013

Great for Insanity work-out on cement basement floor! Easy to assemble, affordable, and effective!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Unfinished basement floor
Great floor for infant tummy time
5/5Tatami Tiles
Ned from Durham, NC 10/4/2013

We purchased these cushioned flooring tiles to create a play space for our twins. For under $100.- we created an 6'x 8' play island in our living room instead of just throwing blankets on the hardwoods. It is working out great. A bonus is that the soft floor makes it comfortable for us to sit and play with the babies too.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Play space.
Great product for cement floor
5/5Tatami Tiles
JR from Olcott, NY 9/28/2013

We just finished off a few rooms in our basement. I love the thickness and cushioning I get from these tiles when I do Zumba and other workouts. The price was great, very easy to install, and the result is neat and beautiful. Thank you for a wonderful product.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home exercise room
Outstanding product
5/5Tatami Tiles
Tony M from Clearwater, Florida 9/10/2013

This product has proven to be better than expected and my initial expectations were very high! I highly recommend the product and this company.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Love the flooring!
5/5Tatami Tiles
Ann from Sunrise Beach, MO 7/9/2013

We originally ordered a square area of the mats but loved it so much we ordered more to complete the room. They are so easy to put together and provide excellent padding. Any new needs, we are definitely coming back to Rubber Flooring!

RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Gym
tatami tiles for your home
4/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Whitehouse, Ohio 7/7/2013

These tile are nice just what I was looking for. They were slippery so I wiped them with a floor cleaner. good to go.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - basement
7/8" Tatami Tiles
5/5Tatami Tiles
Kathy from Peacham, VT 4/24/2013

These tiles work great for high impact aerobics like TurboFire. My knees were really starting to bother me so I got these to help deflect some of the impact. I love them and plan to purchase more. Delivery was as promised. I have them on a highly glossed wood floor and they do slip some so I had to tape them down to keep them secure. I will be securing them on a basement floor soon and will most likely have to use some sort of double sided tape to keep them in place. Other than the slipping, I absolutely love these tiles!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Happy Customer
5/5Tatami Tiles
William H. from Wesley Chapel, FL 4/15/2013


Images sent in by happy customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Back Room
Work Out Flooring
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Tampa, FL 4/15/2013

My knees were tired of doing Insanity and Plyometrics on my concrete garage floor. I got these tiles and the installation took about ten minutes. I did not have to do any kind of cutting so installation times may increase. For me it was more of a plug and play installation. They look great and the stress on my knees is WAY less! I was worried that they would be too "squishy", but they were just right for any type of workouts. I would not place them under heavy equipment. They are definitely worth getting for a workout area and I am planning on getting more for the kids playroom.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Garage/Home Gym
Wonderful tiles
5/5Tatami Tiles
Jay F from Sun Prairie, WI 3/1/2013

They came right when they should and were a great product. Originally, I bought them for a wrestling area for my kids and I but we use them for everything including building forts and knee padding for projects around the house. They are fabulous to walk on too. Money well spent!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement playroom
Children's room
5/5Tatami Tiles
Kristina from Baton Rouge, LA 3/1/2013

We used the blue and red tiles to go wall to wall for our sons room. I love it because right now he's droolling a lot and its very easy to simply wipe up. They are also a lot softer then a lot of their flooring so when he topples over he doesn't get hurt.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Children's room
Just what I needed
4/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Texas 2/17/2013

Offers a durable, lightweight solution for my exercise needs. I installed the Tatami mats in a dojo/workout room and they facilitate everything from popular home workout routines, to free weight training, to martial arts training. It scuffs easily so shoes are a no-go, and if you want to rest heavy equipment on it I suggest something more dense and durable. Also, it will slide during dynamic movements unless constrained by walls or taped down.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home gym/dojo
Great product
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Los Angeles, CA 2/10/2013

Tiles were easy to install, look nice and function well for our home gym.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Fantastic
5/5Tatami Tiles
Lucy from Portland, OR 2/2/2013

These are perfect for creating a custom exercise mat or anti-fatigue mat. I use them to practice martial arts on, and ALSO in front of my kitchen sink as an anti-fatigue mat. I'm short, and the extra height in front of the kitchen sink makes doing the dishes more comfortable. The foam is firm and supportive, not squishy. They are better than the mats the gym has. They wipe clean and easily moved around/reconfigured. I'm back to buy more!!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - kitchen, living room
Great floor
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Ada, OK 12/26/2012

My boys are in judo,& this floor is great to practice on!

  • Did you install it yourself - No
  • Where did you install it -
Easy install
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Tacoma, WA 11/28/2012

I've been looking to cover my cold concrete basement floor after I removed the old carpet and swore I would never buy carpet again. Originally I thought about rubber rolls, then tile but then I kept searching and found these 2'x 2' tiles that are so easy to install and remove if needed. I pre-painted the concrete with a one coat sealer to seal moisture. Then I started on the largest wall and worked out, easy. They are soft under foot but not too soft you sink in. I liked their two color sided, and prefer the grey. They are very easy to cut to fit. The whole basement looks fantastic, feels warmer and best of all my kids can wrestle around on them and not get hurt. I purchased about 20 extra so I could have a large yoga mat in my upstairs loft partially covering the new wood floor. Very happy with free delivery too!

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Basement
7/8" Tatami Tiles
4/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Boston, MA 11/19/2012

Ordered the 7/8" Tatami Tiles and could not be happier with the product. Tiles came as described and were shipped in a timely manner. Tiles are being used in a basement gym, with weight lifting equipment and a punching bag. While using the punching bag, the tiles are fine; not too slippery. Would definitely recommend for a cost effective solution for home gyms.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Home Gym
Perfect!
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Scottsdale, AZ 11/14/2012

Arrived super fast! Exactly as promised. My aspiring gymnast loves it.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - exercise room
strong odor and hard mat
3/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from New York, NY 10/19/2012

Odor surely is so strong I have a headache. It took about a month for the odor to die down. mat is thick and very hard. I bought it to absorb sound of toddler's activities on hardwood floor but not sure it has helped much.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it -
Great solution!
5/5Tatami Tiles
Anonymous from Nashville,TN 9/22/2012

Love it! An inexpensive DIY solution for replacing carpet in a 16'x24' room that doubles as a rec room/guest room. Using the gray side up doesn't show dust & dirt. Tiles are lightweight and simple to cut for trimming around corners and obstacles. The room had a slight odor that dissipated after a couple days. Easy to clean, super comfortable to walk on, best of all, no more nasty carpet that holds on to dog hair and allergens.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - rec room/guest room
Great product and Company
5/5Tatami Tiles
Dan from Varna, Illinois 4/30/2012

I bought these for my exercise room. Being 56 my knees and ankles aren't as good as they used to be, thankyou football and wrestling, but these tiles have made P90X easier on them. They came in a timely manner and went down perfectly. I bought extra tiles because I read some reviews that said there may be a few deformed ones but I had no problem. The price was good. I would recommend them to anyone needing a cushioned floor.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Exercise room
Exactly what I was looking for
5/5Tatami Tiles
Rich F. from Phoenix, AZ 3/15/2012

My sons karate dojo has tiles like these and I figured why not get some for home. They are great and now we can practice at home without Mom getting too mad or worried.
RubberFlooringInc- Customer

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Spare bedroom turned into a kids playroom
Used as work out flooring
5/5Tatami Tiles
Dave from Pittsburgh 3/14/2012

These mats work great as flooring for my work out room. I have ankle problems and these mats soften impact while doing plyometrics. I put them down and take them up every day as my cats love to claw at them.

  • Did you install it yourself - Yes
  • Where did you install it - Work out room