Customer Reviews: 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles

1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles Reviews

1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Price from
$3.08 sqft
$49.28 Tile
reg: $4.11 sqft
tile $65.71
We'd love your feedback
Average Rating 4.8/5
(68 reviews)
results 1-20 of 68

Outdoor Workout Area

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Andrew I. from Los Angles, CA
10/13/2014
This is our new outdoor workout area and observation deck (top of picture).

One of the pleasures of living in Southern California is the ability to build an outdoor gym that can be used year round.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Outdoor Workout Area
Was this helpful? 8 0

Quality construction, but lots of rubber odor

3/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Matt from S. Florida
08/04/2013
We ordered 28 of these 1/2" thick 4'x4' tiles to tile our gym room. The tiles seem to be well made with consistent pattern and thickness. I was able to cut them with a utility knife (razor knife), the trick is don't be in a hurry, make multiple passes per cut and switch to a new blade after 2 or 3 tiles. For more complex cuts I used a jigsaw. The result looks really nice, I was able to cut them to fit perfectly and they lay nice and flat on the floor. The puzzle like pattern keeps them together nicely. For quality of construction I give them 5 stars. However they have quite a strong rubber or chemical smell, and for this I'm removing 2 stars. Our room is approximately 400 sq feet and it is enclosed in South Florida, currently without air conditioning. In the afternoon when it's warm in the room (about 95 degrees F) it's almost difficult to breathe until we open the windows and doors to air it out, and the smell gives me and my wife a headache. It has only been installed for about a week so I'm hoping the smell will go away with time. The smell is my only complaint about the product. Also, a trait that I suspect is the same with any rubber floor, powdery type dirt sticks to the rubber (if someone walks in from outside with dusty dirt on their shoes) and the vacuum won't lift it. However brushing it with a broom loosens it and then the vacuum will pick it up. So in summary, for quality of construction I give it 5 stars, but for the powerful chemical/rubber odor I'm taking away 2 stars, for a final score of 3 stars.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home gym
Was this helpful? 7 5

Great Product

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Jennifer C. from Forest City, NC
09/08/2014
We just installed the rubber floor at Parker Hannifin in Forest City. The install went smooth and the floor looks great! I would send a picture but I don`t think this format would allow it. Thanks for a great product.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 6 0

I love it!

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
David W. from Highland, CA
01/23/2012
I used your 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles for my gym....I love it!

Images sent in by happy customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 5 0

Like them!

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
NBD from Texas
07/12/2015
Exactly what I was looking for! Thick, easy to assemble, and functional. There is an "off gassing" time for the rubber smell to dissipate, but eventually it does. Actually have to order a few more, my only request would be to have the ability to put on "edges" to apply in order to accommodate odd tiles (like a three sided tile, or tile out by itself).

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 3 0

Awesome Floor!

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Kevin from Pittsburgh, PA
03/22/2014
I priced rubber floors for my new home gym at local flooring stores and was amazed at how expensive these were to have installed. I researched options online and decided to order the 1/2", 4'x4' mats for my 10'x15' room from RubberFlooring.com. They arrived when promised and were as easy to install as was described. As a matter of fact, the flooring arrived at 4 in the afternoon and i had it completely installed by myself at 10pm that same evening-installing around 2 doors and a inside a closet. Everyone that sees it is amazed and my carpenter couldn't believe that it wasn't professionally installed. I can't say enough about the product and the ease of installation. If you are in the market for a rubber floor, this is the one to get. Remember to have plenty of razor blades and change them often.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 3 0

Home exercise room flooring

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Anonymous from New Bloomfield, Pa
02/04/2014
As of right now I don't have any equipment on the floor yet so I can't rate durability. If appearance and weight have any bearing on the durability it should hold up well. We're building a new home and were trying to figure out what to put down on the floor of our exercise room. A coworker of mine suggested we look at rubber flooring. So I jumped on the internet and started researching rubber gym flooring. After reading all of the positive review here about both the company and their product I decided to place my order. Communication was good and the product showed up in a timely matter. I installed the tiles over a new concrete floor. I ended up using a carpet knife and a piece of steel angle iron for a straight edge to cut the tiles. It worked out very well. I have an electrical closet in the room so I cut everything to also cover the closet floor. There is a 4" sewer drain line that goes down through the floor in the closet that required cutting around. I used a slightly larger hole saw which cut through easily. The floor looked like it was manufactured for the size of the pipe when it was laid. When I started my install I began laying the tile out so the seam wouldn't be in the doorway. I quickly discovered with the tile combination that they ship (corner, wall and center tile) that you should only be cutting tile at 2 walls. Keeping the seam away from the door would have required cutting at 3 walls. The seam is in the doorway but isn't that noticeable and looks like it shouldn't be an issue with durability. With a new build I installed the rubber flooring before the builder put the baseboard molding in so the floor looks great finished under the trim.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home exercise room
Was this helpful? 3 0

Great product that's easy to install

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Anonymous from Los Angeles CA
05/25/2014
Ordered rubber tiles to turn part of my garage into a gym. They were extremely easy to install and look great. I highly recommend them.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it -
Was this helpful? 2 0

Happy Customer

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Alan S. from Franklin, TN
03/15/2013
It definitely gives it a professional look.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 2 0

First time

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Fagers island from O c md
02/26/2017
Easy to install, easy tile fits perfectly, seamlessly
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Exercise room
Was this helpful? 1 0

outstanding

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Deby Judd from Borger Texas
10/19/2016
This floor is perfect! Easy to install. Stays where you put it. I am using it for cross training. It is easy on the joints when they have to be on the floor during an exercise. Thank you for making a great product. Thank you for making the ordering process simple. Thank you for delivering everything you promised.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - in a outdated unused gymnasium
Was this helpful? 1 0

Great product, great service

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Anonymous from Boston, MA
03/20/2016
I purchased these tiles to put in a basement home gym that is primarily for weight training. I was most definitely apprehensive about putting in a rubber floor. There are a lot of choices available on the internet. I ended up going with RubberFlooringInc based on a number of recommendations in weight lifting forums, and everyone our family of 4 is glad that I did (everyone works out). Here are some general observations that might be useful to others: 1. Customer Service is very attentive - when I decided to change my order after placing it, I received an e-mail and a thoughtful phone call followup. Likewise, when I had a shipping question. 2. I had read reports of various rubber floorings having offensive order. I've received no complaints about odor from anyone in the family. 3. I was on the fence about whether I should use 1/2" or 3/4" flooring. I was worried that the 1/2" would not have enough give on a concrete floors . In the end it's perfectly adequate. 4. It was really easy to install. The pieces went together perfectly.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Basement Home Gym
Was this helpful? 1 0

Great Product

4/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Gerald from Los Gatos, CA
12/01/2015
We purchased the 4x4ft tiles to minimize the number of seams and are very happy with the product. The one gotcha to keep in mind is getting your order right.. We struggled with both the online calculator (which doesn't really take into account the shape of our room and further, presents one option that doesn't completely cover the room), AND working with one of their representatives. In the end we ended up short a few pieces and some of our pieces were incorrect (needed fewer edge/corner pieces and more center pieces). So my advice is look very specifically at what pieces you're getting and what type of pieces and do your own analysis on whether it's correct. In the end, rubber flooring was great and helped us correct the pieces we needed and the product itself is great. It is also pretty easy to install.. I used a box cutter to cut the tiles which really wasn't as hard as some of the other reviewers made it out to be. Just make sure you have new blades and keep slicing it until you cut through.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym (one of our bedrooms)
Was this helpful? 1 0

1/2" 4'x4' Rubber Tiles (Emerald/whit

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Allen Luu from San Bruno, CA
05/28/2015
This rubber tiles is definitely heavy duty and will serve us well. Easy to install. Use the utility knife make several pass to cut per tile. If I knew that, I should have ordered the 2'x 2'tiles instead of 4'x 4'tiles because they are kind of heavy. However, We could get it install within a day. But now I discover the powerful smell of the chemical/rubber odor. I don't know what is the best way to get rid of this smell. Overall, I'm happy with the look of the material and the color of (Emerald/white) shows beautiful and elegant for my home gym.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 1 0

Very Happy

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Daniel M. from Wyckoff, NJ
04/08/2015
I built an office gym for a customer and used 1/2" gym flooring.

RubberFlooringInc- Customer
RubberFlooringInc- Customer
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Gym
Was this helpful? 1 0

home gym floor

4/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Anonymous from Texas City, Texas
05/30/2014
The rubber flooring is definitely heavy duty and will serve us well. I wish I would have got a different color besides black. everything from your shoes show up on this colors. installation was fairly simple compared to other floorings. the floor looks great in the room. my one complaint is I had to buy more flooring than I needed so I have two and a half extra mats. I would rather be able to buy the square foot I need rather than in the bundles you sale. over all we are satisfied with our purchase. Thank you
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - home gym
Was this helpful? 1 0

Great Gym Floor !

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Anonymous from Connecticut
02/06/2010
Perfect for my home gym in the basement. Hardest thing about installation was opening the box. Priced a similar product at a local flooring company and they quoted me twice the price. Received flooring 4 days after placing my order. I am totally satisfied with the flooring and will be taking it with me if I move.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - home gym
Was this helpful? 1 0

Thrilled!!

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Anonymous from Laguna Niguel, CA
04/27/2017
I used this product in a "guest bed room" gym. I needed the 1/2 inch so it would be level to the wood floor that is in the hall connected to the room. It looks amazing!!! I installed myself with no assistance. Being a smaller female, the hardest part was carrying the 4 x 4 heavy tiles from the garage to the room.. the rest was cake. My room is not square so I had to do a lot of trimming and I found trimming to be super easy with a fresh blade and straight edge. (Tip.. once you score about 1/2 way, just bed the tile a little and the next score will go all the way thru. :-) It is so wonderful to work out in there now.. The floor is awesome!!!

RubberFlooringInc - Customer Photo
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Home Gym
Was this helpful? 0 0

Happy Customer

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Keith B. from New Kensington, PA
03/09/2017

RubberFlooringInc - Customer Photo RubberFlooringInc - Customer Photo
Did you install it yourself - No
Where did you install it -
Was this helpful? 0 0

5/5 Stars

5/5 1/2" Rubber Gym Tiles
Juan Nader from Culver City, CA
10/03/2016
- Excellent sales representative (Kimberly D). - Fantastic quality. - Best in price. - Delivered what was promised. Extremely satisfied customer.
Did you install it yourself - Yes
Where did you install it - Office Space
Was this helpful? 0 0
results 1-20 of 68